Dairy royalty coronation March 22


Dairy royalty coronation March 22



By Mike Van Sickle
News Editor



The Fayette County Dairy Promotion Board has announced the candidates for 2014 Fayette County Dairy Princess and Little Miss Squirt. Each of the candidates will be recognized during the organization’s annual Fayette County Dairy Banquet, which will be held at Echo Valley Banquet and Reception Center near West Union on Saturday, March 22.

As of The Union’s press time, the 2014 dairy princess candidates are as follows:

Mary Scott, daughter of Mike and Kathleen Scott of Westgate, is active in FFA, softball, track, and basketball at West Central High School.

In addition to being a member of Harlan-Fremont 4-H Club, she participates in Fayette County 4-H Council, Dairy Quiz Bowl, and serves as the Fayette County Youth Committee vice-president.

The 16-year-old is also a member of both the National and Iowa Junior Holstein associations. Her hobbies include riding horses and showing cattle.

Mary is employed with Scottmore Holsteins and is sponsored by Sebetka Brothers Trucking.

Katie Stewart, daughter of Matt and Diana Stewart of Oelwein, attends Oelwein High School. She is active in FFA, choir, show choir, band, volleyball, basketball (statistics), and tennis.

She participates in Dairy Quiz Bowl, dairy judging, Fayette County 4-H Council, Fayette County Youth Committee, and fair activities.

A member of Sacred Heart Church, as well as National and Iowa Junior Holstein associations, Katie also enjoys playing sports, horseback riding, showing cattle, spending time with friends and watching movies.

The 17-year-old is employed by her parents and is sponsored by AMPI.

Little Miss Squirt

Meanwhile, Alexis Steffens is the 2014 Little Miss Squirt candidate.

Alexis, daughter of Aric and Wendy Steffens of Clermont is in the third grade. The eight-year-old enjoys math, piano, dance, soccer, riding horses, helping out with chores, and playing with animals.

Alexis is sponsored by Dairy Farmer of America.

Additional dairy producers and supporters will be recognized as Pioneer Dairyman, Distinguished Dairy Family, Outstanding Young Dairy Producer, Distinguished Dairy Producer, Outstanding Dairy Employee, Dairy Appreciation, Fayette County “Dairy Best,” Sally Fagle Memorial Award, and scholarship recipients.

Dinner and an ice-cream social will also be held as part of the annual event, which begins at 7 p.m. Tickets will be available at the door.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here