Wenthe, Sandhagen to square off


Wenthe, Sandhagen to square off 


Janell Bradley
Contributing Writer


Former state legislator Andrew Wenthe will face former Fayette police chief Randy Sandhagen in seeking election to the role of mayor in Fayette’s November municipal election.

Longtime mayor Bill Dohrmann announced three weeks ago that he is not seeking re-election to the post he has held for 22 years.

Sandhagen served as the city's police chief from March 1, 1988, to Jan. 31, 2005. He also provided law enforcement in the communities of Baxter and Strawberry Point.

Wenthe served six years in the Iowa Legislature, representing the 18th District beginning in 2006. He is presently vice president for external affairs at Upper Iowa University.

All five council seats will also be on the Nov. 5 ballot. Three of five incumbents seek re-election. They are Patty Nefzger, Brian Frana and Todd Sorensen. 

Five city residents filed nomination papers by the Thursday, Sept. 19, deadline to be included on the ballot. They are Daniel Boberg, Curtis Larson, Kata McCarville, Kris McGrane and Rich Patrick.

Councilmembers choosing not to seek re-election are Braulic Caballero and Doug McReynolds, both of whom have served several terms on the City Council.



Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here