School Board Election Results


School board election results

According to unofficial results, only 154 or 4.3 percent of North Fayette and only 259 or 15.7 percent of Valley eligible voters turned out for the Tuesday, Sept. 13, school board elections. 

With Kathy Wenthold of West Union, District 4, choosing not to seek re-election, North Fayette voters cast 55 write-in ballots for the seat.

Fayette County Auditor Moellers reported early Wednesday morning that an unofficial District 4 winner could not yet be proclaimed as she waited for all election boxes to be returned to her office. 

North Fayette incumbents Julie Ahrens, Karen Michelson and Carolyn Roys ran unopposed.

Meanwhile, Valley voters elected Debra Loftgard (239 votes) and incumbent Mark Howard (189) to the school district’s two at-large seats. KinDee Durnan tallied 44 votes.

In addition, Fayette County voters voted to renew the Northeast Iowa Community College 20¼-cent levy by a 629-192 tally.

Additional school results included:

North Fayette – (Incumbent) Julie Ahrens, District 5, 135; (I) Karen Michelson, District 6, 135; (I) Carolyn Roys, District 7, 135.

Northeast Iowa Community College – John C. Rothlisberger, District 1, 421.

West Central – Brent Sharff, District 2, 62; Charles Barry, director-at-large, 54.

The Fayette County school board election results will be officially canvassed at 9 a.m. on Friday.

Results of the North Fayette District 4 election will be posted online at when they are made available.



Kriener, Mihm-Herold retain
South Winn Board of Education seats


Winneshiek County Auditor Ben Steines reported Tuesday evening, Sept. 10, that turnout for the school district races in Decorah, North Winneshiek, and South Winneshiek were only 5.7 percent of registered votes.

The unofficial results for the regular school election held in Winneshiek County are as follows: 

South Winneshiek winners were incumbents Wendy Mihm-Herold (124) and Arnold Kriener (113).

Incumbent Allan Schmitt did not run for another term, leaving a seat open for Jeff Heying (5) as a write-in candidate. In is now up to Heying to accept the position or the Board will appoint another community member. 

The Board of Supervisors will canvass the election on Friday, Sept. 13 at 11:30 a.m., after which time the official results will be declared. 

For the NICC District #2, Kathy Gunderson (119) remained on the board and the Public Measure for the continuation of the NICC property tax levy was approved 367 to 48 in Winneshiek County. The levy votes noted are for Winneshiek County ONLY. Dubuque County will compile the totals and canvass these races on Monday, Sept. 30.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here